Zoo Time!!!
they love each other:)
Eli sleeping at the zoo
Since we hadn't been up to any zoo's yet this year, we figured we better go since it's almost time for me to go back to work! so last saturday we went up to the como zoo. i packed lunches for us and so we only spent $7 total for the trip! it was a super nice day out, so it was PACKED there, so i didn't really get very many pictures! l&j had a lot of fun there, eli was good and slept pretty much the whole time. on sunday i spent the day freezing green beans and carrots, and making and canning 'pickled garden vegetables.' the pickled veggies had cauliflower, green beans, zucchini,summer squash,carrots and onions in. mother found the recipe and wanted me to make it, so i did! i also had to take a trip to faribo to napa for a part for my van. last week my breaks decided to stop working when i backed out of the driveway, so adam had to put in new brakes and roters, and on one side another part. no place in waseca had the part, so i picked it up in faribo. after that i had to go to christa's because last year she STOLE my canners, so i had to get them back! on saturday birds eye had corn for sale. they have salt bags(water softner salt bags) that you can fit as much corn as you can in for $6, so adam stuffed it full and got 53 ears of corn in it! so on monday i shucked it all, blanched it and cut it off the ear and got 18 bags of corn! so that equals only .33 cents per bag! what a deal! there was a worm on one ear, so that whole ear got thrown away because i didn't want to touch the worm, it was a big, gross black one:) christa gave me all her tomatoes when i was up there on sunday, so after the corn i peeled and de-seeded the tomatoes and made crushed tomatoes and canned them. a guy adam works with gave me some cucumbers, so then i got the idea to make pickles, so on saturday on our way home from the zoo we stoped by g&g becker's house and got a bunch more cucumbers and the recipe for pickles,so tuesday i made pickles! it was my first time making them, i just tried one and they turned out pretty good! monday night i went for a 11.16 mile bike ride, it was nice to take a break and get out of the kitchen!! today l&j are at daycare and so i asked mother to watch eli for me so i could go for bike ride. i went 14.59 miles and increased my average speed. it is SOOOO windy out, so it was a tough ride! i am really starting to like biking, i like how far i can go in just an hour, a LOT further than if i run for a hour! well, since today is my last day without l&j before i start work and eli is sleeping, i think i will read for a little bit now before i go pick them up! have a wonderful day! guten tag!
Comments